Blog post 1, May 4, 2018


Hello Everybody

Let me introduce myself.


Hello Everybody

Introduction

Hello everybody. What a fantastic journey so far. Let me introduce myself; my name is Peggy Hefner. I am 46 years old, married, mom of two. The kids are 20 and 17 now, so I am finding I have more time for myself. What is even better is that I am deciding to share what I am doing with you. I am not a writer by any means; you can say I am more of an introvert that loves to share what she knows. The people who know me know I am a talker that talks too much. My kids have even told me I overshare.

I was born and raised in Southern California. The neighborhood I grew up in wasn’t the best, but I gained so much from that experience. My neighborhood was known as the melting pot of the South Bay. The years I spent there are truly appreciated. On occasion, I still go back for visits because you can’t get food that reminds me of my childhood anywhere else.

If you don’t have time to finish reading this post, then save it to your Pinterest account and read later. Just click the little icon below. 

What have I done?

I have always been lucky at getting jobs. At the age of 12, I had my first warehouse job, and it lasted until I was 24. Unfortunately, the company relocated to Texas. My next job was not too far from the last. It was another six-year stretch before I had to leave because I was relocating over 100 miles away. Luckily for me,  I did because the company closed that branch the next year. The next stretch of jobs came when my kids were little. There were only two, but they were solid and dependable.

In August of 2013, I relocated back to my hometown for almost three years. The neighborhood still had great food but wasn’t much safer. So we found a compromise neighborhood about 50 miles away and moved again in July of 2016, and we are enjoying our home and our neighbors. Although nothing has replaced our love for our home food places, we are enjoying some of the ones that we have found.

What am I doing now?

When I relocated in 2013, the kids weren’t able to go to their assigned school. Remember the neighborhood was a little unsafe. We were lucky to get them permits to attend a neighboring district. That meant I would transport them to and from school along with band activities and other sports activities. Now sometimes these activities would end late at night, and they still had homework. I know that you parents can relate; it is incredible to see how these kids fit it all in nowadays.

Finding any part-time work that would be flexible with their random schedules was impossible. This is the time I started my research trying to work from home. Months were spent researching and trying to find something. Then I came across a post on Pinterest about proofreading. Of courseI didn’t act on it because I come from a generation that doubts and questions EVERYTHING on the Internet. So it got pinned to a board and I forgot about it.

Over The Next Four Years

For the next four years, I got really into genealogy, and my tree grew to over 23,000 profiles; even using multiple sites and DNA to collect my data. In my spare time, I help others with their trees, do volunteer indexing of historical documents from the 1840s to the 1940s. Other volunteer work was performed in and outside of the kids’ school also, but it was my tree that took up most of my time. I still find genealogy exciting, but I am the type that needs change. Feeling productive and helping others succeed is what I was being drawn to do. So I started researching work-at-home gigs again. This time I just had to go at it with a different mindset. I had to remove doubt, have faith and not get scammed.

I found it!

That’s when I found it. I did it, all I had to do was change my mindset and take a leap of faith. Remember that pin. From that one pin, I found a whole online world full of courses and ideas to run my home business. Trusting that I wouldn’t be scammed, I found some online classes that have actually helped me become a successful self-employed entrepreneur. Surprisingly, I already had some of the skills that I learned in these classes. The online courses just showed me how to apply what I know to my business. Then there were some classes that I took that were entirely out of my comfort zone and taught me new skills. You can find a blog about each of the courses I took here.  

Bye for now.

Anyone can work-at-home for whatever reason. I look forward to you joining me on my journey. Be it a part-time gig, full-time gig or just some side hustle money. Find your why, then let it drive you to new discoveries. What is your why? Do you have any questions for me? What have you thought of doing?

Take care,

Peggy

**This content may contain affiliate links which may result in me being financially compensated for purchases site visitors make through said links.**

Join our newsletter.

Fullsizeoutput 1a

Subscribe to get our latest content via email.

We won't send you spam. Powered by ConvertKit


Peggy Wyrd

Peggy Wyrd was born and raised in Southern California. She is married, mother to two adult children, and has three dogs. She started her work-from-home journey on July of 2017.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *